#1 · Oct 16, 2008 23:03 UTC
Just got this from someone and thought I'd post it here. It may or may not be a real threat, but since it doesn't involve emailing the world ("The sky is falling! The sky is falling!"), I figured it wouldn't hurt to let you know.
Hey I just wanted to let everyone know about a new spybot that attempts to phish your information by creating a false yahoo site.
If you use yahoo as your search engine/home page and it appears to have a different look to it, do not use it. If you look up in the URL address bar you will notice it reads:
http://mwww. yahoo com instead of the normal http://www.yahoo.com. Notice the MWWW. This is a dummy site created to phish any information you type in. If you come across it, close it out immediately and do a virus/spyware scan. After that go to your internet options and clean up your files, delete history, cookies, and temporary internet files. Do the same thing with Disk Cleanup, which can be found in your accessories and system tools.
Yahoo is the only one I have come across that has been affected but there may be other sites. Always check your URL address.